A Sense of Adventure

13 04 2012

As I have said many times in the past, I have been fortunate enough to have traveled the around the world with my employment. Whilst at times I may moan about “being away again”, I never take the travel for granted.

Tomorrow I will step out of my comfort zone. Let me rephrase that somewhat. Imagine my comfort zone is a seat in First Class. Tomorrow I will stand up from my comfort zone, clear my throat, then leap out of the Emergency Exit at 10000m ! Let me explain more…

I don’t do Back Packing, camping or roughing it travel in anyway shape or form. I like my travel and vacation arrangements to be fluffy, well organized and comfortable. Quietly efficient is another way of putting it. Often airlines try their best to cause issues with my “Quietly Efficient” plans, such as sending my luggage on a different plane to me. However I try not to let such trivialities phase me and adopt a Zen Buddhist approach to their shenanigans !

Image

I accept the flight cancellation to overcome it...

I am traveling to Vietnam tomorrow to embark on a 16 day motorcycle tour. Departing from Hoi Chi Minh City (Saigon) and meandering up to Ha Noi. Vietnam is one of the most stunning countries in the world, and I have always felt a draw there. I have visited most of Asia, but South East remains unexplored for me.Originally I had booked a 4 day tour over there, in amongst more traditional tourist travels but circumstances changed those plans somewhat. Now this trip is very much outside of my comfort zone. I am a keen biker, but have never embarked on more than a 1/2 day tour before. I think that the bumps on my head need feeling ! Not only will I be living out of a bag, but staying at “rustic” hotels and/or home-stays. “Ladies and Gentlemen, this is your Captain speaking. We are cruising at an altitude of 10000m/33000ft. If you look to the left of the aircraft you will see the lunatic speeding towards Earth” !

All joking aside, this is going to be an amazing experience. I hope to follow a similar route to Top Gear’s wonderful Vietnam trip. If you haven’t viewed that episode, please do. Who could forget Hammond’s pink Russian motorcycle, repleat with Spanish Galleon parked on the rear:

Image

So, this will be my itinerary for the next 16 days. I am traveling with Easy Riders Vietnam

  • Day 1: Saigon – Mui Ne ( 200 km – 6 hour ride )
  • Day 2: Mui Ne – Dalat ( 160 km – 5 hour ride)
  • Day 3: Dalat – Lak ( 165 km – 5 hour ride)
  • Day 4: Lak – Cu Jut ( 100 km – 3 hour ride)
  • Day 5: Cu Jut – Kon Tum ( 230 km – 8 hour ride)
  • Day 6: Kon Tum – Kham Duc ( 170 km – 6 hour ride)
  • Day 7: Kham Duc – Hoi An ( 130 km – 4,5 hour ride)
  • Day 8: Hoi An – Hue ( 175 km – 6 hour ride)
  • Day 9: Hue – A Luoi ( around 130 km – 4 hour ride)
  • Day 10: A Luoi – Khe Sanh (140 km – 4 hour ride)
  • Day 11: Khe Sanh – Phong Nha (200 km – 7 hour ride)
  • Day 12: Phong Nha – Ky Anh ( 180 km – 6 hour ride)
  • Day 13: Ky Anh – Vinh ( 120 km – 4 hour ride)
  • Day 14: Vinh – Thanh Hoa (224 km – 7 hour ride)
  • Day 15: Thank Hoa – Ninh Binh ( 150 km – 5 hour ride)
  • Day 16: Ninh Binh – Ha Noi ( 220 km – 7 hour ride)

This will be an amazing an eye-opening experience for me. I am already considering biking holidays across Norway and America.

I will be keeping my WordPress as up to date as possible during the trip. Now if you will excuse me, I have to trim my luggage down a little…

Image

Wish me luck…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

