The bucket list

2 05 2013

The term ‘Bucket List’ seems to have gained significant popularity over the past couple of years. For those who are unfamiliar with the term here is the Urban Dictionary’s definition;

Bucket List

A list of things to do before you die. Comes from the term “kicked the bucket”. ‘I need to remember to add skydiving to my bucket list.’
The most memorable use of ‘Bucket List’ for me was the venerable Karl Pilkington’s ill fated journeys across the globe in ‘An Idiot Abroad’. If you haven’t seen any of these I really do recommend putting some time aside to watch them.
All of that aside I have not thought much about my bucket list. As I drift towards the comfortable middle ages of my life, I think about what I still want to achieve. I am not talking about financial or career based achievements, but life events. A positive event that fundamentally changes the person that you are. Impacting not only you but those around. How can you conceive such a notion? How can one determine what events are so significant?
From the vagaries of my mind, one item has always stood clear as a ‘must do’. That is to write a book. I am not artistic or creative. I cannot paint a picture or draw well. A five year old painting with their toes would do a better job than me. Therefore to take experiences, emotions and sensory inputs and process them into words. Words so others can experience and feel as I have. To walk alongside, hearing the sounds, feeling the air and having their noses filled with smells.
I am very proud to announce that I have taken the Vietnam blogs and converted them into a book. Expanded and with many photos included it really chronicles the journey, including the events that led up to it. It feels like a life achievement, six months of work finally in print. Actually it was almost never in print thanks to Adobe Lightroom. I lost all text within the book for weeks. Six months work gone, lost forever. Before you ask, no I did not make a back up. Luckily Lightroom seemed to get it’s self back together and the text recently reappeared. Several hundred back up’s later and it was complete.
My original theory behind my blog was to make my journeys and experiences available to my family, in particular my daughter. As the blogs have developed so has my writing style. The blog has become not so much about self expression, more about self exploration.
If you are interested you can take a look at the book

Noodle Soup

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

